What's new

What are some dumb things you've done as a pilot?

ScottAmes

What are some dumb things you've done as a pilot?

I'll start: As a student pilot I landed on a runway with a little hill at the end, in the winter, and the hill was covered in snow. This was a Cessna 172 and I left two very nice tracks on the hill in the snow as I came over it to land. I dragged the mains though the snow. I didn't think much about it, and thought it was kind of funny, until the instructor told me that I could have slowed the aircraft down enough to have caused a stall and crash right there at the end of the runway. Talk about touching down before the numbers. Never did that again.

Zeede

Too many to count. In no particular order:

I've forgotten to remove the chocks or untie the tail on more than one occasion. God bless checklists!
Left the carb heat on after runup, and took off with carb heat on, wondering why I wasn't climbing as well as usual.
Driven home to find the control lock and pitot tube cover in my car, so I turned around and drove back to the airport to put them on the airplane. (Good thing I only live 10 minutes from the airport)
Got confused about which side of the airport the traffic pattern was, the first time at this new airport. I started sketching the runway diagram on my kneeboard to visualize it better. (I sketched it from the direction I was coming from, so "up" on my drawing was the direction I was flying to the airport, not North like most diagrams are.

Happy_cfi

I forgot to remove the chocks on my instrument ride. Didn't realize it until after I started the engine and tried to move. I just looked at the DPE and said, "Strike one." He just busted out laughing and the proceeded to get out of the plane to remove my chocks for me.